Words and Notion

Words Whipping up Whimsical Waves of Notion

I can’t do this; I am a fraud

52 Comments

Am I good enough to proceed with this work? How can I deceive the people who believe in my talents? What if they found out my inefficiencies on a day? Do I really deserve all these appreciations or are they just doing some favour for me? I can’t do this; I am a fraud.

Don’t worry if you have ever thought like this. This is a part of all great achievers like Emma Watson.;)

It was interesting to know that 70 % of the world population have suffered from it at some point of time in their life. They attribute their accomplishments to luck rather than their capability. Most people with this imposter feeling are afraid of ‘being found out’.

May be this is one of the reasons which make people to wear a mask. (Read more on masks at “Unlocking the secrets behind a seductive smile “)

Impostor syndrome (also known as impostor phenomenon or fraud syndrome) is a concept describing high-achieving individuals who are marked by an inability to internalize their accomplishments and a persistent fear of being exposed as a “fraud”.

And many a times this fraud syndrome as well as perfectionism goes hand in hand. And it makes people reluctant to ask for help from others.

Self-acceptance is the only way to overcome impostor syndrome. Give your best and recognize your strengths.

Author: Akhila

An emotionally colored and emotionally neutral woman flying across the space between words and whipping up whimsical waves of notion to discern the quantum code of her soul.

52 thoughts on “I can’t do this; I am a fraud

  1. Well, I am dumbstruck, never knew of the impostor syndrome, now I will sit overnight and worry if I suffer from this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I first read about this in the book Lean In and researched a bit. The saddest thing is that women are morely likely to suffer from this – we just cannot accept our achievements at face value and contribute some of it (or all of it) to luck or other external factors.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We all suffer from this syndrome at some point. At time this syndrome also helps in giving the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Same feeling, sometimes just the same..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Though luck is always a factor ( even when we do sometimes want to ignore it) but one should always believe in oneself…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. TIL leanred about imposter syndrome and never before. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Self-doubt. Athu enikk nallathu pole relate cheyyaan pattunnatha. The key is shut down all the negativity and keep motivating yourself. This syndrome and perfectionism! That’s so me. It’s like you’ve taken a glimpse into my head. I try to keep fighting, mostly. Idakk onnu pathariyalum, I keep going. Excellent post. Felt good to read this. 😊

    Like

  8. Wow.. that’s something to think on!! 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Received my mind….!! Touched my heart…!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have another issue, I sometimes feel over confidence and my boss say that I don’t know my actual capabilities and I can achieve much more.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. God. I am really suffering through this😧

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great post! But I think that self acceptance is not just about accepting your achievements by also realizing that I’d ok to fail sometimes. we’re only human after all

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sounds like a very familiar syndrome we all face and come across on the path to success!
    A good reminder post! 👌

    Liked by 1 person

  14. We would do ourselves a big service if we not only had humility but also the audacity to accept our own strengths. Seeing success as a luck factor is such an external thing. We never get more than we deserve.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Beautiful words and self-acceptance and being aware of what is happening with you and how you can do better instead of going thru these syndromes that pull you down is not going to work. Be in the know and a positive and healthy happy mind will take you forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Self-acceptance is the only way to overcome impostor syndrome. Give your best and recognize your strengths.
    Perfect line

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This is VERY familiar. I do feel like a fraud, always. It is horrible!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Do I suffer from this syndrome? You’re scaring me. Anyway I’ll take the last point I’ll recognize my strengths and give my best. Good morning Akhila.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

