Words and Notion

Words Whipping up Whimsical Waves of Notion

I am on my Periods

39 Comments

“I am on my Periods, I am bleeding”, how it can be different from breathing or digesting. It’s just another very normal biological phenomenon.

But people are uncomfortable to talk about it; they feel embarrassed even if they talk about it…Another stereotypic impression.

“We are not shy anymore. We are not dealing with any nuclear bombs as Shreya said. We, the girls are likely to bleed for between 2,000 to 3,000-plus days in our lifetimes. So this bloody thing is no more a taboo.”

MysteriousSoul

Few days ago, I had gone to a nearby shop to buy sanitary pads and it was when I noticed that shopkeeper was looking for a newspaper to wrap up the packet in it to ensure the thing won’t be visible even before putting it in a poly bag. He took about a couple of minutes for the task and I was already getting restless to leave. So I just told him, ”Uncle bomb nhi hai, esehi dedo” (“It’s not a nuclear bomb, give it as it is”). And then his expression was indescribable as he saw me weirdly without saying anything and handed it to me directly putting it into poly bag. I left.

The above incident hasn’t happened just only at a particular place but I have noticed such happenings in various places. How pathetic! The thing could appear a jiffy matter to anyone but no doubt, these…

View original post 309 more words

Author: Akhila

I am flying across the space between words and whipping up whimsical waves of notion to discern the quantum code of my soul.

39 thoughts on “I am on my Periods

  1. I think we Indians like to keep few things secret and we dare not talk about it to children also. Not a right thought. Need to come out of the shell to view world is still revolving.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Why people take this like “PERIODS”
    COMM’ON IT’S NATURAL!!
    Chill people😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t agree more!! Even when you shop in malls, I see people covering the sanitary pads with other stuff on their cart. Also when billing and packing, they make sure it’s concealed enough not to be seen outside. ! Like we’re actually carrying a bomb!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: M: A Story of Period | Thoughts of Words

  5. Hear hear! It is long overdue that we embrace our bodies for what they are… and what they do. I am so happy that my workplace has now installed a vending machine for sanitary napkins! We are all shocked, pleasantly so. It is definitely a step forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good morning, Akhi! How are you, my dear?
    A powerful piece, very well expressed.
    I had a friend, whose cousin never did get her menarche, but physically she looked and had attained every other aspect of puberty. Being a strong-willed young woman, she took it in her stride but deep inside she always thought of herself as incomplete.
    The monthly menstrual period, among many other physical attributes and emotional strengths or weaknesses, are simply what make a woman complete and if there one feeling, it is only one to be proud about. However, this mindset is slowly and steadily changing and education is a major catalyst to this change.

    Like

  7. It is the society that has ingrained on us that it is a taboo, and we have to ‘extra careful’ on our periods, and our ‘pads/tampons’ shouldn’t be left callously or god forbid be seen by others.
    It is just a normal biological change for women then why cant’ it made normal in the society too. Why such a big fuss?
    It is time we just made less fuss about such petty issues and grow up and accept that getting our period is just ‘normal’.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had already read that post..Proud of you two👍🏻

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Awesome. I couldn’t agree more.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. This is a patriarch thing. Matriarch cultures did not hide this. They saw women as sacred because they were purified with the moon. The American Indian created the purification lodge for men because they could not naturally purify like women. We know it today as the sauna. So you the next time you go in a sauna realize it was a beautiful right. This patriarch world is all about fear, shame and all things natural being taken away.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. You go Gurl!! so proud of you !

    Liked by 1 person

  12. As I commented on Shreya’s post, this is entirely due to Patriarchal society, as she says. It is another way for men to try to hang onto their domination of women.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Yes absolutely true Akhila and why must it hurt anyone who sees us with our pads it is not a sin at all. So well written.👌👌👌👌👌👌

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You two are letting me rewrite an essay I had written a few times back…by Monday I hope I’ll post that…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

