Words and Notion

Words Whipping up Whimsical Waves of Notion

That’s not a legal move

57 Comments

Venue: Open FIDE Rated Chess Tournament

Time: 9:30 AM

Timers pressed. Game began.

My opponent was a little girl, not more than 10 years old.  And when the game started I noticed that she had a wrong placement of king and queen (Or something like that, I don’t remember exactly).  I thought, “Oh..this innocent kid, poor girl, why should I make her in trouble” I told her to correct it and the game restarted.

After sometime, she called the arbiter.  Did I make any mistake? My eyes scanned the entire board..no, nothing is wrong.. then what’s wrong with her..I thought.

The timer was placed on my left side, so I was moving pieces with my left hand to meet the law of pressing the timer with the same hand which made move. And as a poke-yoke, I kept a pen in my right hand too and was writing the moves in the notepad.  The cautious me, no..;)

The little girl assumed that I was playing with right hand, as it is the normal way. And when she noticed that I was pressing the timer with left hand, a bulb lighted in her head. Anyway, it didn’t take much time to make it clear for her as the arbiter was the real witness to shield me.

Another 10 or 15 moves over. I did a short castling. Again she stood up.. I scanned my board..the cycle repeated, found nothing wrong. The arbiter came and at once she said that I moved into check. Castling is only forbidden when an opponent’s piece controls a square that the king has to cross. Thanks God, I am saved this time, too. She might have got mistaken by the rules.

After a few more moves, she called the arbiter again. My heartbeats started to increase. And this time, she had a complaint about the table, that it’s not steady.. Anyway the arbiter solved this problem too…the match continued..

Please don’t ask me who win or lose the match, I give full credit to that little girl as she gave me an alternative insight to her generation.

Author: Akhila

Flying across the space between words and whipping up whimsical waves of notion to discern the quantum code of my soul.

57 thoughts on “That’s not a legal move

  1. Thank God I haven’t yet played chess with a ten year old girl. I’m going to take this post as a warning and steer clear of those little rascals. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful commentary of game !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess this is one of your best experience!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ‘We’ are some bunch of some friends met accidently and we also used to teach poor kids near our vicinity on weekends apart from society kids”Donate an hour” is the initiative behind this cause & rest i am very happy personally with “I” status😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bottom line you had an amazing experience! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hmmmm…surprise, surprise..generation gap, perhaps

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hey, have you played hnefatafl? We should play a match on our phones at some synchronized time 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  8. All I can say is I wish I could play chess. The way you described it makes it one of the best sports to engage the mind in . 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. You reminded me of the last time, almost years back i played chess with a kid who’s no more :’) Almost a tutor and in a year a student as the kid’s moves and mind so perfect that i lagged behind since then i left the game, almost out of my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi… share with us the insight!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Haahaaa….i never mess with kids & chess is never a cup of tea for me though i am quite a popular among kids in our society like we(group of friends) used to gather kids on weekends for some extra curricular activities but i used to stay away from chess..😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Perhaps the lesson has something to do with naivety! Deception can come in many guises; little girls not excluded. You strike me as a beautiful soul. Some beautiful souls like to think the best of all people, when the opposite can also be true; even in little girls! Acceptance can be a wonderful key!
    Getting down from my soap-box now….. 😉 😉
    Really enjoyed your story… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Clever indeed.. and to do it in a way that in end you still thinking of her as

    Liked by 1 person

  14. They found your match in a little girl ? 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I’ve played some opponents in championships who had dirty tricks up their sleeve (like they would ask their friends to come and stand behind me to watch the game from right behind me and try to create pressure during zeitnot) but I did not think that applied to little girls. Surely is a different generation…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

