Words and Notion

Words Whipping up Whimsical Waves of Notion

Give up our thought limitations

45 Comments

Recently I read an interview question.

Regardless of its origin, it presents a fun problem, but a smart one.

When I read it, can’t just leave it without sharing with you.

So here it comes,

” You’re driving down the road in your car on a wild and stormy night. The weather is like a hurricane, with heavy rains, high winds, and lightning flashing constantly. While driving, you come across a partially-covered bus stop, and you can see three people waiting for a bus:

  1. An old woman who looks as if she is about to die.
  2. An old friend who once saved your life.
  3. The perfect partner you have been dreaming about (your “soulmate”).

Knowing that you only have room for one passenger in your car (it’s a really small car), which one would you choose to offer a ride to? And why?

This is a moral/ethical dilemma.

  • You could pick up the old lady, because she is going to die, and thus you should save her first;
  • or you could take the old friend because he once saved your life, and this would be the perfect chance to pay him back.
  • However, you may never be able to find your perfect mate again.

The candidate who was hired (out of 200 applicants) had no trouble coming up with his answer. Guess what was his answer?

you guys, just pause and think for a moment and then scroll down..

thought

He simply answered: 

“I would give the car keys to my Old friend and let him take the lady to the hospital. I would stay behind and wait for the bus with the partner of my dreams.”

Sometimes, we achieve more if we could give up our stubborn thought limitations. 

Yes, think out of the Box..

Author: Akhila

Flying across the space between words and whipping up whimsical waves of notion to discern the quantum code of my soul.

45 thoughts on “Give up our thought limitations

  1. That is awesome. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was a good one, Akhila! Thanks for sharing 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Always refreshing to read your blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In one of the alternative dimension.. “… As I stay with partner of my dreams. Partner of her dreams comes and picks her up…” :’)
    “As I gave my key to my fren to take granny. He politely rejects the offer and invokes the Bro code. I take the granny and say bye to my fren and partner who will be in dream always.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i thought of the same answer 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great thought provoker…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I read it long ago and this very thought came in my mind.. Great post Akhila!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve heard this moral question before, or at least one very similar, but I don’t think I’ve heard this answer. What a great answer .. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Woo hoo….I guess I would have been hired because that was the answer I gave! 🙂 Maybe I’m learning the older I get;)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is truly awesome.. Wow… Something out of the box. Keep it up ! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. A..out of the box ideas often produce the results that we dream…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yes. We often limit ourselves because we fear the unknown. Cute picture, Akhila. Lynn

    Liked by 1 person

  13. If I give keys to friend he will ESC alone .. Old lady wil die ther only Dost kamine hote hain ..

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Really it’s out of box kind of answer and an amazing one.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Aha! That’s an amazing ans! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Good one ! ചിരിവന്നു

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

