Words and Notion

Words Whipping up Whimsical Waves of Notion

Never be a workaholic..

53 Comments

When I joined the IT industry, had so many butterfly dreams as many others.. .

Getting a word of appreciation, being motivated, showing a mark of uniqueness etc , etc.. the list goes on.

My dreams were built upon my motto. And no doubt, that I was pretty happy even under my tight schedule and work pressure. But later on, experiences proved that my motto was not adequate in a professional world. It lacked a BUSINESS EYE.

Let me share a few lessons which I experienced.  I am quite sure that whatever may be the profession, a business eye is the most essential thing required.

  1. Give and Take policy : When you offer ‘x’ to someone today, ensure that you get 2X tomorrow
  2. Never allow others to take your shoe until you get a better one.
  3. Understand that Managers are always “Managers”. Every manager will have a business eye upon your talents. With a few inspiring words, a manager could easily convert you talents to profit. Ensure you also get your share of profit. If you believe your managers blindly, you are lost.
  4. Do protest when you are sure of positive results. Otherwise quietly quit.
  5. The last, but the most important is ‘why don’t you think about becoming your own boss’.. Be an entrepreneur..
Author: Akhila

I am flying across the space between words and whipping up whimsical waves of notion to discern the quantum code of my soul.

53 thoughts on “Never be a workaholic..

  1. Hmmmm good pointers for sure.. and the last point to be your own boss is brilliant if one can do ..

    I am working on that fingers crossed. . Although the company I work for its been 17 years with them.. I have become part of the furniture it seems…😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting post ! I can easily see a marketeer in some people in IT industry ! Relocatable !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tried my stint at it and I know I can’t work under anyone. I was too dedicated an employee which is never good.
    The last option works best for people who can actually afford to take the leap!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Words and Notion and commented:

    never be a workaholic..

    Like

  5. Lesson learnt and noted, Thanks for sharing the value able things.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on blogged and commented:
    Have a business Eye

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Reblogged this on Krupa Nanda and commented:
    Be an entrepreneur..!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I guess many of us are scared to step into the unknown world of an enteprenuer. But i believe letting go of all the “ifs” will help. Insightful post, Akhila.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have nominated you for the ‘Versatile Blogger Award’ (https://randomboutsandthoughts.wordpress.com/2016/03/18/seven-facts-about-me/). Would you be interested?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Good one! Action should define us!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It takes a little courage to stand “outside the box” and take on the world. Those with integrity and a strong work ethic will find the experience rewarding. It’s not easy, but most things in life we find worthwhile require persistence and great energy.

    Like

    • yes. It’s not easy. Infact from my experience, it’s easy to be dedicated and hardworking if that attitude is there in one’s blood. Even it’s not difficult to be unique if there is passion. My point was on the business side of it. it’s not that easy. There is a saying, crying baby gets milk first’

      Liked by 1 person

  12. 5) become leader without title. i mean be a leader in whatever role u play .. time tested thing. you will grow ..
    ofcourse you are hired for making profits, for ur skills to be utilised .. if its a win – lose situation then whats the use. both parties should gain ..

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I experienced 3rd and 4th today…appraisal time!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Loved it! This seems so true in IT industry. Thing is, the managers just do their job. But it takes a while for a fresher entering this ‘fancy world in disguise’ to realize the tactics to survive in the industry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes.. Absolutely true.. it takes much time for a fresher to understand the politics in an IT world. And once she/he starts realizing it, it would be much much late..

      Like

Leave a Reply

