Words and Notion

Words Whipping up Whimsical Waves of Notion

What should I Pray?

61 Comments

I used to have a list of concerns to discuss with God during my pray time. But nowadays I feel a kind of blankness.. Nothing to pray. Am I becoming a sage? Hmm .. No chance. ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess this state may be for a few days only, as Iโ€™m experiencing this not for the first time. It may not last much. (I may soon open my complaint box ๐Ÿ˜‰ , I guess)

Picture1

But this time a bit different. A total emptinessโ€ฆ

Is there something like I need to pray โ€˜thisโ€™ much time, โ€˜thisโ€™ much louder so that he will answer to my queries..? I donโ€™t think so.

If God can understand everything why do I need to talk to him about my worries, happiness and all..? If he knows me, he must know my feelings too.

I believe that God resides in oneโ€™s own heart.ย So I doubt why should I pray.. Or rather what should I pray?

One thing is for sure that sitting in front of God makes me relaxed during my pray time. But nowadays I sit asking the same question โ€œwhat should I pray?โ€

And finally I am not all an atheist and I believe in God fully, so I am simply continuing with my devotional songsโ€ฆ

Have you experienced this kind of feeling before? I would like to hear from you.

Author: Akhila

I am flying across the space between words and whipping up whimsical waves of notion to discern the quantum code of my soul.

61 thoughts on “What should I Pray?

  1. Pingback: Oh God, Please help me | Words and Notion

  2. Your whole way of saying is so apt. Once u realise that he is infinitely one and we r one in him there is no need of going to prayer places where only meaningless things r seen but reading what he has to say to all of his creation and doing self service is the real thing. I just loved your post. Thanks Akhila.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is pray my gratitude, when I praise. I think thank you is always a good start to a prayer and find that “counting my blessings” increases faith AND my happiness.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: 3-DAY QUOTE CHALLENGE (Day #1) | impeccablehopes

  5. I only pray in my heart when I feel like but I hardly go to mosque specially for praying.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: DARTS AWARDS-PREMIOS DARDOS | impeccablehopes

  7. I used to find myself with this question when I felt as if I could only pray when I needed something. But, since I have changed the nature of my prayers, they are more like conversations with God. More like “so, what’s up, today is going to be challenging for me so give me strength. Or “goodness that last minute presentation was crazy…good looking out by being there and giving me courage to make it through”….that’s kinda how my prayers go.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I believe that everyone goes through a season of emptiness or spiritual dryness so yes I experience it too. I also go through times when I don’t want to pray and wonder why I should since God knows my thoughts. But we shouldn’t only pray in times of need. Our relationship with God should transcend that. It should be about everything and every season. May God help you through this season and teach all you seek. Remain blessed.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Prayer is talking to God, meditation is listening to God, maybe just listen to him or just tell him all the things you are grateful for and put everything else in his hands and yes, you are right, he does know all of our hearts and knows what we need better than we do!! Much love and peace to you in this most holy of seasons! Thank you for reading my poem… as you can probably tell, I am in a state of pain and disappointment over a certain man… the one I trusted completely turned out to be a sex addict and lair. I will get over this but it will take a long time…. my poem writing helps.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Its a good think Akhila…. I am among those who always have such a huge list of things to ask for/ complain and crib about… that i am sure that God does appreciate silence at times ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  11. On the plus side, feeling blank could be a sign of openness – what Keats called ‘negative capability’ and Wordsworth ‘a wise passiveness’. I saw some graffiti the other day which I liked. ‘Forget Yourself’ – worth considering!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am mostly blank.
    I mean one goes to an auspicious far off place and bows head to have nothing to say! Isn’t it crazy?
    So I take the privilege to say thankyou God. Have merci on us! But I don’t feel it!
    and sometimes I fell so connected even at home…Its an on and off thing. You can read my article regarding my confusion.

    https://kaundalm.wordpress.com/2015/07/28/give-me-the-password/

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Whenever I feel like I am lost for words of things to ask, or I feel like I’ve got nothing ask. When i go to pray, rather than ask, I use the tI’ve to thank him.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Yes! I’ve experienced the off-on, hot-cold prayer life a good deal. So I wrote about: http://mitchteemley.com/2015/04/14/how-i-ahem-make-that-god-revolutionized-my-prayer-life/

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I get this feeling with the thought sometimes. I guess you are grateful and fulfilled๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  16. I am not very religious so I havent really been here before. But I do love to sometimes have a simple thanksgiving prayer. It’s easier,I think,to always reach out to God with a list of things we want or need,but maybe when you reach out at these times…with nothing but thanksgiving,you may feel a sense of fulfillment. It’s like when sometimes I call home just to say ‘i love you mom,thanks for being my mom’. Simple gratitude. Hope it helps

    Liked by 4 people

  17. For me, it’s always been a serene, calm and peaceful experience to go to a temple. Apparently never know how to pray rather what to ask. Even though I have a big hit list of things I want in life. But end up only being thankful for everything I have got. And leave with belief and hope that he knows what’s best for me and take care of me. Exit the temple with relief. And most of the times, he does make things sorted out for me. So yeah, pretty much my experience ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Reblogged this on wwwpalfitness.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Perhaps we can become enriched by learning to ‘Be Still’…..and just ‘Be’. Not easy…but immensely rewarding. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  20. These are the challenges that life hands us and the recognition to step back and realize the humanness of becoming overwhelmed with emotions. As we turn to meditation and prayer to regain a grounding effect our energies return and provide new meaning and understanding for our purpose in life. It is a cycle we must work through each and every time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • thank youโ€ฆ
      first of all sorry for the late reply (not sure how few of the comments went to Spam folder)
      yes, you have a point there.. understanding the purpose in lifeโ€ฆ itโ€™s still playing a hide & seek game with me. One day I will find it out fully, so that none could ever hide it..:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

